My Favorite Chicken Noodle Soup

DSC_0412

The semester’s finally over, it’s 81 degrees out, and I’m thinking about making chicken soup.

No, I don’t have a cold. I just love this soup that much.

I still can’t believe I went from saying “I don’t like soup” just a few years ago, to craving it multiple times a year. That’s the power of discovering a recipe you love, and this one I adapted from two separate recipes to create my Favorite Chicken Soup.

The secret? Ground thyme, turmeric, and that oh-so-essential bay leaf. My mouth is watering just thinking about it!

My Favorite Chicken Soup

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen and The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients

  • 1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3lb chicken, cut into parts
  • 8 cups water
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon table salt
  • freshly ground black better
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground thyme
  • 1-2 carrots, diced
  • 1-2 stalks of celery, diced,
  • 3 ounces dry noodles (my current favorite are gemelli)

Directions

  1. Add oil to a large, heavy pot and sauté onions for 4 minutes.
  2. Add chicken pieces to the pot and brown on both sides for about 10 minutes.
  3. Add water, bay leaf, salt, and some ground pepper, and bring to a boil.
  4. Simmer for 20 minutes, partly covered.
  5. Transfer chicken to a plate and allow to cool before shredding chicken off the bones. (Optional: add bones back to broth and simmer for 45 minutes before removing them)
  6. Using a fine mesh strainer over a bowl, strain your broth.
  7. Clean the original pot before adding the broth back to the pot and bringing to a simmer.
  8. Add chopped vegetables and spices and simmer for 10 minutes.
  9. Add noodles and cook according to package directions.
  10. Add chicken (as much as you like; I like my chicken soup protein-rich and so add nearly all of it back) and simmer for 10 minutes.
  11. Ladle into soup bowls and enjoy any time of year.
This entry was published on May 10, 2014 at 6:21 pm. It’s filed under Savory and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

