Beef Goulash

So I actually didn’t realize I had an audience for my posts until a couple of friends asked me last month why the heck I wasn’t updating my blog! Oops!

Now, as I’ve said after similar hiatuses, it’s not that I’ve stopped cooking or baking, but that I’ve made up too many excuses for staying away, but I resolve to make 2014 the year that I get back into writing up and sharing the meals I make.

I started this blog right around the time I started graduate school as a way to stay sane by asserting my right to a life that didn’t solely consist of reading, writing, and grading. Although I admit to loving the first two, I still always need to have some sort of creative outlet and here I get to do three of the things I love most: making food, taking photos, and writing.

So, on this day of subzero temperatures across the country and a windchill of -9 degrees Fahrenheit in NYC, I bring you Beef Goulash: warm, hearty, and definitely filling. It’s been a while since I made this last, but with the way the winter is shaping up I’m sure I’ll be preparing this again soon enough.

Beef Goulash

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Servings: About 16 cups

Ingredients

  • Original recipe calls for 5 slices of bacon, chopped, but I didn’t have any
  • 3 lbs boneless chuck, chopped into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 2 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 4 onions (1.5 lbs), finely chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 Tbs paprika (I used regular, but am meaning to use Hungarian sweet as per original recipe)
  • 1.5 tsps caraway seeds (if you have them)
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 5 cups beef broth
  • Between 1 and 5 cups of water, the more liquid being for the soupier version, less for stew
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 red bell peppers, chopped as finely as you like

Directions

  1. If using bacon, cook over moderate heat in an 8 qt dutch oven. Once cooked transfer to a large bowl with a slotted spoon.
  2. In the bacon fat (or some oil if you skipped the bacon), add the beef chuck in batches over high heat to brown. Place the meat in the bowl as you cook it.
  3. Lower the heat to medium and add vegetable oil, then cook your onions and garlic until golden, stirring occasionally.
  4. Add paprika, caraway seeds, and flour. Cook while stirring for 2 minutes.
  5. Add red wine vinegar and tomato past and whisk while cooking for 1 minutes
  6. Add broth, water, salt, bell peppers, and meat, stirring to coat. Bring to a boil.
  7. Simmer while covered for and hour to an hour and fifteen minutes, stirring occasionally.
  8. Salt and pepper to taste. The original recipe says you can make it up to 3 days ahead. Eat as a stew or over noodles or rice.
This entry was published on January 7, 2014 at 7:53 pm. It’s filed under Savory and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

