Spicy Sweet Tater Soup

Also, I lied
Or, at the very least, I forgot that I actually had made two soups, one more solid than the other, and tucked the recipes away but never blogged about them. So here’s to the last recipe I made months ago and never posted. I think.
Back story: Winter in Maryland was pretty rough (though not as ridiculously ice-cold as it was then in NYC), so one Sunday evening in January I decided to make two pots of soup, one tomato, one sweet potato.  
The tomato soup wasn’t my favorite (maybe because I didn’t have all of the ingredients I needed), so I’ll save that post for when I’ve found The One. But the Spicy Sweet Potato Soup? Incredible. Below you’ll find that recipe.
Kitchen Tip: I found it really convenient to then pour in a serving of the soup into quart sized freezer bags to thaw throughout the winter for a quick lunch or dinner. I also figured out a cool trick: freeze them laying flat; this way you can stand them up in your freezer like little files or folders– this is also helpful since it lets you sneak them in between other bulkier items. Just sayin. It worked for me.

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup 
Adapted from Allrecipes  
Liner Notes: I love this soup. The spiciness is right up my alley, the sweetness isn’t cloying, and the starchiness just makes this the perfect comfort on a cold night (extra warm because of the chipotle I added). 
Ingredients
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 Tablespoon butter
1 onion, sliced
2 cloves of garlic, sliced
4 cups of chicken stock
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
approximately 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter
juice of 1 lime
2 Tablespoons chopped cilantro
salt, to taste
my addition (and why I love this soup): a heaping spoonful of chipotle pepper and adobo sauce

Directions
1. In a large pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook for approximately 5 minutes, until just softened.
2. Add sweet taters, chicken stock, cumin and red pepper flakes and bring to a boil. 
3. Once boiling, reduced to a simmer and cover for 15 minutes, until taters are soft. 
4. Puree the soup in batches using a blender.
5. Return soup to pot, whisk in peanut butter and heat through. 
6. Add in lime juice, salt, and chipotle pepper and adobo sauce.  
7. Ladle into bowls, top with a bit of cilantro, and enjoy the hot, spicy warmth as it takes you over.
This entry was published on June 12, 2011 at 7:33 pm. It’s filed under dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

